The Rain and The Shade

August 11, 2011

My name is Ovais and ICodeInCSharp , IDoPhotography,IWriteBlogs

Filed under: C# Coding,General Software Archiecture,Modeling — ovaisakhter @ 2:11 pm

 

I am a big fan of interfaces in a object oriented language like C#. I have been using dependency injection (IoC) in most of my previous projects and using DI your model contains many interfaces. I always try to spend some time in naming my model elements be it the name of interfaces, classes, methods or even the variables. When I look at code by other people one thing I usually notice is how they are naming their model elements.

Some days back I was looking into NServiceBus the things I noticed while doing that other than shear brilliance was the way different interfaces were named. for example IHandleMessages or IContainSagaData. This was a bit different way of naming then what I usually use as normally I would use something like IMessageHandler. I thought this is an interesting way of naming something like a class is saving my Name is MessageHandler and I Handle Messages. Sounds more natural more understandable.

I thought I should give this way of naming a try. In one of my projects, I tried to use similar naming.

The first place I need to create Interfaces are the repositories. So I started with names like IStoreData (instead of IRepository sounds boring doesn’t it?), IStoreDataInSql and went on and making names like IStoreStatistics.

Next place was the application controller where normally the interfaces for the services are named as IStatisticsService or IConfigurationService etc the names now became a bit different i.e. ILogStatistics, IManageSiteSurveryConfiguration, INotifyToExecuteAction INotifyWhenSiteSurveyConfigurationChanges.

Thought it was fun way of naming interfaces in some cases it become as stagnant as the old approach like IProvideThis and IHandleThat but in some cases the names become very interesting like INotifyWhenSiteSurveyConfigurationChanges and INotifyToExecuteAction.

1 Comment »

  1. Nice Post…. Haven’t thought of Interface names like ICan**** but sounds vey interesting… Now you brought it up and enlighten my mind I can recall a few examples from within the .Net Framework:

    INotifyPropertyChanged,
    INotifyCollectionChanged,
    INotifyDataErrorInfo

    Might be more but these are at the top of my hed right now.

    Strange, Microsoft never mentioned it in the documentation:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/8bc1fexb(v=vs.71).aspx

    Probably because in the days of .Net 1.1, even they themselves didn’t think about it..

    Thanks,
    Rizwan

    Comment by Rizwan Ahmed — August 17, 2011 @ 11:38 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

